Small Town Festivals, Parades and Fireworks

2015-07-05

Enjoying my beautiful, peaceful early Sunday morning after a busy weekend of celebrating our independence watching parades, listening to fireworks, and eating butter soaked corn on the cob and sugary cinnamon elephant ears at small town festivals with my family.

It was fun meeting a friend for lunch and browsing through the quaint shops around the local town square and enjoying the statues the town is displaying for the summer. Another day I enjoyed driving the country back roads with my daughter to an outlet mall to take advantage of the 4th of July sales. I’m so thankful for GPS’s because the expressway was bumper to bumper.

Today is totally different as I spend my morning rocking on my porch swing listening to the doves, cardinals, wrens, and robins cooing and chirping their own language distinguishing themselves from one another. There are four or five birds that are flying high and chasing after each other. Even with the fly buzzing near my ear I can hear the chipmunk quickly dash under the porch.

I’ve heard very few cars pass by so far this morning which makes it even better. Perhaps with the fireworks blasting off even after 1:00 a.m. many people are sleeping in today.

I enjoy seeing the lilies, with various colors, in bloom. I’ve never been good at identifying flowers and it’s on my back burner to one day identify and create a journal of all my flowers. The previous owner was an awesome gardener and left a beautiful mixture of flowers leaving a serene setting.

Sadly, the weekend is coming to a close, and I have to prepare to get back to work tomorrow in the big city. Sitting here I’m making a mental checklist of all the work that needs to be done at home. The badminton net needs to be taken down that was put up from last weekend’s festivities, weeds need to be pulled in all the gardens, and the grass needs to be cut as the white flowers from the clover are accenting the high green grass. Despite all the endless work involved, I still love the peacefulness of living in the country.

This has been a 4th of July weekend of celebration for our country’s freedom. In the midst of the busyness of the holiday, I cherish the time I have to sit quietly and cherish this peaceful countryside. It gives me time to ponder and give thanks to God for the United States and for all those who served in previous wars to give us freedom and to protect our country. We must pray for our current armed forces and all government leaders as they continue to defend our country and freedom in the days ahead.  God bless the USA!

How do you celebrate the 4th of July? Now is the time for you to pull out your laptop or grab paper and pen and start Keeping Your Memories of your 4th of July traditions. If your parents or grandparents are still with you, interview and record their childhood memories for future generations.

  • Where did you watch fireworks on the 4th of July?
  • Who did you celebrate the holiday with?
  • If you had picnics, where did you go?
  • What food did you eat?
  • Tell a story of one of memorable 4th of July celebrations.

http://www.keepingyourmemories.com

Leave a Reply

