Mom and Gardening

2013-04-06

I was thinking about my mother this past week as she would have celebrated her 87th birthday if she was still with us. My favorite memories of my mother come to me in the spring, when my plants emerge from the ground and flowers bloom. I’m reminded that my enjoyment of the outdoors and gardening were instilled in me from the love that she had for gardening.

Mom enjoyed getting her hands dirty digging in the dirt and planting flowers. She was diligent in getting on her knees to pull weeds and dig up dandelions. Before Dad retired she was always willing to use hedge clippers to trim the bushes and push the lawn mower and work as hard as him.

Every morning in the spring and summer Mom and Dad would sit outside in the comfort of their backyard enjoying their morning coffee planning their day and surveying the yard.

Before we sold my parents’ house I took some of her hostas, red tulips, pink peonies and purple irises with me that she planted years ago. Every spring when these flowers push up from the ground and bloom, I think of her.

Gardening is a peaceful task, and I see the benefits of the hard work when completed and understand why Mom enjoyed it so much. What hobby did your parents have that they thoroughly enjoyed? Preserving the legacies of your parents will prevent them from ever being forgotten and future descendants will be able to read these life stories and understand their family heritage. Pull out your laptop or grab paper and pen and start Keeping Your Memories of your parents starting with the following questions:

  • In what ways are you like your parent(s)? And not like your parent(s)?
  • What did you enjoy doing with your parent(s)?
  • What was your proudest moment of your parent(s)?
  • What was the most valuable lesson you learned from your parent(s)?
  • What is the one thing you most want people to remember about your parent(s)?

http://www.keepingyourmemories.com

Leave a Reply

